Home > contest, Polls > Place Your Baby Bets!

Place Your Baby Bets!

asdfsdfa

"Guess my sex, birth date and weight!"

I have to admit – when my friend, Keith first came to me with the idea of creating a facebook group for people to place bets on my baby-to-be’s birth stats, I was pretty hesitant.  However, once I realized giving him the “okay” wouldn’t really mean I was pimping out my baby, I gave in.  (Plus, he promised to put two dollars of every five-dollar bet toward a baby gift for Baby Lump.  Hey, we’ll always need extra diapers, right?)

The “Pam and James Baby Betting Pool!! $5 Entry!” group has only been in existence for about 24 hours, but I’m already starting to notice the potential for how much fun it could be.  It’s really interesting to see what people’s guesses are and wonder who will be correct (or closest to it).  I’ve even started making an Excel spreadsheet of the first submissions (eh – you already knew I’m a geek).  And after a chat with the group’s original creator, we’ve decided to change a few things …

In the spirit of the group, we’ve decided to eliminate monetary wagers.  This was also decided after the realization that people probably won’t be sending me five-dollar bills in the mail.  (Unfortunately, facebook is lame and doesn’t allow you to change the name of a group after it’s already been created, so don’t be deceived by the title.)  Anyway, I figured more people would post their guesses on the wall if they didn’t think they had to contribute a few bucks, and I’m honestly just curious to see if anyone will guess the three stats dead-on.  Which reminds me, guesses are to be made in the form of three categories:

  1. Sex/Flavor (you know – boy or girl)
  2. Date of Birth (Month/Date)
  3. Birth Weight (in pounds and ounces format)

The official rules are posted in the group’s description, including specifications for scoring and how the winner will be chosen.  So please, join the group and place your bet guess!  Just be careful not to guess the same as someone else!

While there may not be any monetary compensation for the winner, I already have a few ideas up my sleeve as far as prizes go.

And hey, even though we’ve gotten rid of the actual betting, if you’d still like to submit a five-dollar donation for the future purchase of diapers, by all means! :o)

I’ve decided to post an ongoing list of people’s guesses in a separate page on this blog called “Birth Stats,” which I will try to update regularly.

Oven Timer: 24 weeks, 4 days

  1. Nina
    September 27, 2008 at 7:52 am

    I don’t have facebook! – Girl, January 12, 8 lbs 8 oz. :o)

  2. September 27, 2008 at 10:32 pm

    Don’t worry, Nina – I gotcha. You’re officially entered.

  3. expensivemistakescheapthrills
    September 28, 2008 at 3:04 pm

    that’s a pretty nifty idea.

    plus, babies are expensive. why not make them earn their own way? lol….

  4. kimber
    September 29, 2008 at 10:38 pm

    okay this is too good not to share…

    so i was thinking that a GREAT prize for the winner of the pool would be to give the baby his/her middle name but didnt want to mention it to you until i did research on some names to really sell the idea. so while looking on a couple of websites i some how got distracted and started looking at the popular names in 2008 and what they mean…
    now i always thought olivia was a really pretty name BUT apparently it means ELF ARMY. like really?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?

    …just thought i would share

  5. Mike Sherwood
    July 30, 2013 at 7:09 pm

    We are doing this same thing, except its $5 to place a bet, winner gets have the winnings the other half will be placed into a college fund we can set up with the state, that way in future gifts to baby Sherwood people can just put money into that instead of buying useless toys down the road. Congrats Pam and James

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

